Emergency Event Information
- Information on Storm DebrisFriday, May 31, 2019 9:04 AM
The recent storms have resulted in large amounts of woody waste from downed trees and branches and some construction debris waste, such as roofing and shingles. Property owners are responsible to remove the debris from their property, either themselves or through a contractor. Any property damage should be reported to your insurance company.
The County landfill at 14811 Dumfries Road, and the Balls Ford Road compost facility located at 13000 Balls Ford Road will be open to receive debris during normal operating hours. The woody material should be cut into smaller lengths (4 feet or less) and only branches and logs less than 24 inches in diameter can be accepted. Construction debris disposal is limited to a small pickup truck load (2.5 cubic yards). The Solid Waste Division expects many to utilize the facilities over the next few days, so expect some traffic delays and longer wait times than usual. To help expedite the process please have driver’s license available for County personnel to verify residency.
Trash haulers may also pick-up smaller amounts of construction debris and woody waste as part of their normal trash collection process. In general, the branches must be cut into lengths less than 4 feet in length and 4 inches in diameter for pick-up at the curb. The material must tied in bundles or placed in bags or containers. Check with your private trash hauler for more specific guidelines for pick-up of small amounts of construction debris and woody waste.
In addition, the Prince William County Fire Marshal’s Office reminds everyone that most open-air burning is prohibited. This includes the burning of yard waste, storm debris, trash, and other related materials. The burning regulations are derived from several sources to include the Prince William County Code, the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (VSFPC), the Virginia Department of Forestry (VDOF), and e Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Violations of this are classified as a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia’s Criminal Code. Specific details regarding the burning regulations and burn laws can be found at